Head Into The Cold

So, just past one month in my new home in the Midwest, and I get my first head cold in over 2.5 years. That’s right. I was just minding my own business when **bam** I spend the better part of 3 days in bed alternating between DayQuil, NyQuil, Mucinex DM, water and Gatorade. Fluids in, fluids out. Keep it out of your chest by any means necessary.

I have been a good boy. I have been eating better than usual. A teaspoon of local Iowa honey each day, a good multivitamin and plenty of rest. Exercising more and trying to be a good boy. But I learned that none of that seems to be able to counter inconsiderate people.

So, to the lady sitting to my right, who sneezes 12 times a day, ever day, at 2pm. And to the lady to my left who sneezes and doesn’t cover her mouth. Thank you. Thank you for reminding me why, sometimes, it is good to just work at the local gas station or library, away from the thousands of people carrying millions of germs, who don’t cover their mouths when they sneeze, cough or wheeze.

All that aside, I am kind of glad to catch it early in the season. I am going to be living in this area for a few years at least, so making it 1.5 years means my body is doing something right. And I do believe it will build up the proper resistance to keep the nasties at bay long term.

But for now, I cough, blow my nose, and cough again. And sleep. Sleep, perchance to dream.

This entry was posted in Head Cold, Healthy, Lifestyle, New Climate and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

