Blue Bayou

Blue Bayou

For as long as I can remember, my favorite color has been blue. From the blue skies above to the blue walls of most of my bedrooms. The bright shades bring happiness and joy, the softer tones comfort during times of sadness and the deep tones a sense of regal pride.

My father, and by extension me, was a big Linda Ronstadt fan. That thought just popped into my head because of the title I gave this entry, and gave me pause to reflect and smile. The magic of that color blue I suppose.

But I wonder how many people are out there missing all the different shades of blue? It still amazes me how much time people spend with their heads buried into a smart phone, never taking the time to pause, reflect and enjoy the natural beauty around them. I carry a nice phone, I use it to communicate with family and friends and play an occasional game of Words with Friends.

But when I am walking down the halls at work, walking down the sidewalk on the street, or walking through the gigantic mall behind my hotel, I watch people. I try as often as I can to make eye contact, mouth a silent hello with a smile or heaven forbid, strike up an actual conversation.

I also get to see all different shades of blue in clothing, decor and of course, the big, gorgeous sky.

I’ll never be blue. My dreams come true. On Blue Bayou.

This entry was posted in Blue, Colors, Memories, Simplicity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

