Routine

Routine is the key to success, in writing and in life.

I would put quotes around that statement, if I knew who deserved the credit, however, I just typed that out of my head, so it may just be me. I imagine I read that somewhere and don’t recall but regardless, it rings true in how I approach my writing and my life.

So today marked the first day in re-establishing my writing routine, in preparation for NaNoWriMo in November. Early to rise and early in to work, knowing the day would be a busy one, but also knowing my evening routine needed to be established. True to form, work was a busy day and there were a lot of issues that needed to be addressed, and they served as a reminder to me that I spend a great deal of time writing during the day. That writing is structured and focused to assure I am respectful of the time of others. In a way, real life training for writing a novel.

Home from work about a half hour earlier than normal and straight to the exercise room for 30 minutes of exercise. Physical activity needs to be part of the daily routine regardless, but especially when I know that I will be spending a good deal of time applying the BIC principle from yesterday. A quick shower and a bite to eat, then getting down to business taking care of the left over open items from the days to-do list. The exercise tonight is kicking my lazy rear from the last few weeks, so not as much done in this regard, but it should improve.

The way it is looking now, I should have about two hours a night to commit to writing, more if I hit a groove, then off to get some sleep before starting a new day. One thing I will consider is writing some in the mornings, if I am awake early enough, or have even 15-30 minutes to spare. Something to get the creative juices flowing and maybe spark some plot twists when I find time during the day.

I am getting excited for the challenge ahead and encourage anyone reading this to consider working towards the goal of participating in NaNoWriMo this year. It is definitely a daunting task, but if approached with organization and the right attitude, a doable and educational experience.

Here endeth today’s BIC exercise.

This entry was posted in Daily Writing, NaNoWriMo, Routine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

