Yarn

Yarn (noun)

: a long, thin piece of cotton, wool, etc., that is thicker than thread and that is used for knitting and weaving

: an exciting or interesting story; especially : a story that is so surprising or unusual that it is difficult to believe

I have been excited about writing the “Y” entry for the 2014 A to Z Challenge today, for two reasons. First, I will be breaking all the rules today and not following our science to science fiction theme. And this is because, second, I will spend time telling you about the greatest storyteller I have known, my father.

Recently, the 24th anniversary of my father’s passing (I struggle with the word anniversary, as it is usually so cheery, but I digress) came to be and on that date each year, I practice telling the single greatest joke I have ever heard. The yarn about Wigglesworth.

Now, the details of the joke are not what is important, and in fact, I don’t believe the joke has ever been committed to writing. What is important is the way the story is told. It is a long yarn, a tale that builds up over the lifetime of the young protagonist. There are obstacles every step of the way, and failure leads to strengthened resolve.

The intonation and inflection in the voice, the commitment to the tale from the first word to the last. Knowing the right time to spin the yarn to maximize the effect of the story. The care spent on every last detail of every last scene. The crescendo at the punch line met with a mixture of awe and a hearty laugh.

I heard Wigglesworth about a dozen times in my life from the greatest storyteller I know. And I am proud to practice it at least once a year, to celebrate the joy and happiness he still brings to life today.

Certainly more appealing than knitting or weaving.

 

This entry was posted in A to Z Challenge, Jokes, Process, Science, Science Fiction, Storytelling, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

