Mystery

Mystery (noun)

: something not understood or beyond understanding

For whatever reason, this past weekend I stumbled across a task in my memory associated with Dame Agatha Christie. I simply love her style of writing and she was the first “advanced” author that I started reading in fifth grade. Anyway, the task I have always had is to collect and read all of her novels, in order, from first to last.

Seeing as how I am now almost completely mobile and digital in my life, I discovered that you can get what looks like all of the Agatha Christie books off the Google Play Store for about $.79 each. So I downloaded The Mysterious Affair at Styles and have re-embarked on my life long task of reading them first to last.

Science in and of itself is a mystery. There are clues in front of us that if we solve, will lead us down the path towards the answers we seek. Similarly, in science fiction, we want to leave clues for the reader to follow. To get the reader interested in finding the answers to those clues.  To have the reader investing their time and brain in the process.

There are a lot of great mystery writers out there today, but for my money, none as descriptive, intelligent and classic as Dame Agatha Christie. I so look forward to my renewed task at hand.

Congratulations to everyone who made it to the half point of the 2014 A to Z Challenge!

This entry was posted in A to Z Challenge, Fantasy, Mystery, Science, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mystery

  1. Debra says:

    Grats on making this far on the a-z challenge! I love how easy is it to get classic books for cheap AND that we don’t have to kill trees to read them. When I worked in a bookstore I couldn’t believe how wasteful the paperback industry was.

    • kondorkyinia says:

      I agree on all counts! It was horrible having to rip the covers off paperbacks, or just toss them all away after some time. It really sucks!

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting and have a fun and safe Easter weekend!

      • Debra says:

        Dumpsters full of perfectly good books. enough to give a person nightmares.
        Likewise. Looking forward to seeing more of your posts.

  2. We are halfway! I didn’t even realize that until I read this. I don’t think I’ve ever read an Agatha Christie novel. I should!

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

    • kondorkyinia says:

      Congrats on getting halfway! This is my second year doing this and much more prepared this time around.

      Agatha Christie’s first book, The Mysterious Affair at Styles really sets the tone for her writing and is a great place to start.

      Enjoy and thanks for stopping by again!

  3. Congrats on making it half-way – it’s a good feeling isn’t it! I like a good mystery, if it’s historical, or supernatural, even better 🙂
    Suzanne @ Suzannes Tribe
    x

Leave a Reply

