Labyrinth

Labyrinth (noun)

: a place that has many confusing paths or passages

I chose Labyrinth expecting to spend time talking about all the twists and turns that a plot might take as a story develops. After reading the simple definition from webster.com, however, a different though popped into my mind.

What a perfect description of the internal workings of the mind of an author.

For me, one of the easiest parts of writing is coming up with the basic storyline. What happens? How do the characters get there? What is going to interest a reader along the way? These are all fundamental concepts to me. But getting there? That’s a whole different ball game.

The quest for knowledge through science follows a similar tack. There are many paths to finding the answer, and it can be confusing sorting those out to find an answer. The same goes for writing science fiction, or really any type of novel.

A couple of more scenes were added to my novel over the weekend. Nothing earth shattering, but one of them caused a pause in my approach. Was it better to tell that story at the beginning? Or should I hold off and wait to spring that one? If I do tell it early, I have other passages that need to be re-ordered to maintain the time lines.

The mind of an author is filled with many confusing paths or passages. The fun part is sorting it all out so that a brand new world and brand new species are introduced clearly and with purpose.

 

This entry was posted in A to Z Challenge, Fantasy, Science, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Labyrinth

  1. It is funny how each of our minds work differently. I tend to write in a linear fashion and I don’t outline–if I do, I end up not following it anyway! But then I have to do a lot of work on revisions.

    Stephanie Faris, author
    30 Days of No Gossip
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

    • kondorkyinia says:

      I have yet to get to the finish of my first novel but imagine I might be in the same position as you on the revisions. I am trying out “revisions as I go” for the first scenes. So far, it hasn’t been as painful as I thought it would be. 🙂

      Thanks for your insight and for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

