Veer

The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim
Because it was grassy and wanted wear,
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I marked the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference. 

– Robert Frost

It is funny how we forget things for the longest time in our lives, long enough to where the details are not 100% clear.  I remember reading this poem for the first time while I was at a hotel somewhere and immediately wanted to memorize it.  And for the life of me I cannot remember where the hotel was, how old I was, or why I was there.  I just remember walking around a pool that was not opened, and committing each verse to its own brain cell that I then tucked away from decades of beer.

This poem is simple in presentation and prose but complex in applying it to life. I can say with confidence that in most cases I have always ended up on the road less traveled by, and it has made all the difference.

Where do you think you fit on the path above?

*update* – Google deleted my blog yesterday without explanation and the only thing linked to outside of YouTube! (a Google service, btw) was the image contained in the bottom of this post.

Goes without saying I will be moving my blog at some point so any suggestions would be appreciated.  Thanks!


This entry was posted in Life Decisions, Road Not Taken, Robert Frost, Veer. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Veer

  1. Love the poem. Bummer about the blog delete. 😦 I have never had any problem with Blogger, but I guess I must be among the few. Good luck with a new server!
    tm

Leave a Reply

