Love Love Love

Nothing you can know that isn’t known.
Nothing you can see that isn’t shown.
Nowhere you can be that isn’t
where you’re meant to be.
It’s easy.

All you need is love.
All you need is love.
All you need is love, love.
Love is all you need.

“All You Need is Love” – The Beatles

I have found myself writing with a theme though I had not planned on it. Clearly working at a job now where I can listen to my iPod all day stirs creative juices in me.  It has been quite some time since I have been able to sit down and listen to the collection of Beatles music.  It is amazing after 40+ years I am still able to find nuances and little treats in their songs.  For me, the music, lyrics and sound mixing are just far superior to almost anything out there, past or present.  Maybe Alan Parsons comes close.

Anyway back to the topic at hand for today:  Love

If you have listened to much of the The Beatles then you know there are all sorts of great examples of songs about love in their collection.  It has been my observation that the majority of their songs about love address it on the individual level.  “Yesterday”, “Oh! Darling” and “I Want To Hold Your Hand” for example.  But “All You Need is Love” is the first song I can recall that addresses the concept of Love for the entire brotherhood of man.  Over the years it becomes even clearer that this concept guides Lennon in his craft.

I firmly believe that all human beings have the capacity to love another person at the individual level.  It is the defining trait that makes up our very being and nothing can touch it as far as the sheer power and strength it bestows.  But in order to evolve as a species I believe it is important people take that capacity to love a single person and apply it to humankind as a whole.  For if we love everyone equally and without reservation then everyone in the world will be better for it.

“Nowhere you can be that isn’t where you’re meant to be.”
This entry was posted in All You Need Is Love, Humankind, Love, The Beatles. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Love Love Love

  1. KYRambler says:

    glad you all enjoyed it as well! thanks!

  2. marwil says:

    yeah, all you need is love, great song.

  3. KC Weldon says:

    Not a huge Beatles fan but I've always liked that song. Great post.

    KC @ The Occasional Adventures of a Hermit & Oh Frog It

Leave a Reply

