Digital Dalliances

“I remember every detail.  The Germans wore grey.  You wore blue”. — Rick Blaine

So I was at work today, bummed a little that I decided to use my “C” post for the A to Z challenge on Chick-Fil-A instead of the movie Casablanca which I saw this evening on the big screen in its “digitally re-mastered” reincarnation, the ones that Warner Brothers has been playing around with this year.  Digital. Dalliance.  Saved by the letter “D”!!  🙂

Admittedly I was a bit nervous about Warner Brothers messing with the best movie ever made since the magic of Casablanca is not just the acting and the story but the 1940’s cinematography, the cheesy backdrops and the “grainy” quality of the film.  But I wasn’t going to pass up the chance to see Bogart, Ingrid Bergman and Sam on the big screen and it was everything that I hoped it would be and more.  Boy oh boy am I glad I decided to go see it.

There were about 50 of us in the theatre and it was a surprisingly good mix of young, middle aged, and old folk.  From the start as the credits rolled you could feel the atmosphere of appreciation in the theatre and sense the excitement of a special evening getting ready to unfold around you.  And even though I have seen the movie at least 100 times, on the big screen, everything about Casablanca transformed into a magical experience that is larger than life. All the buildings were bigger, the city came to life like it had never done before, the music and score were the same “mono” quality and as best I could tell none of this was due to the digital re-mastering.  It was simply a movie made for the big screen.

Most memorable for me was the scene where Rick charges into the bar as Sam is playing “As Time Goes By” for the first time.  This really showed just how much “screen presence” Bogart possessed as raw emotion made its grand entrance into the film and at that point there was no looking back.  The emotional strain on his face as he laid eyes on Ilsa for the first time has often been imitated in movies but has never been duplicated.  And can you blame him?  Has there ever been an actress as simply beautiful as Ingrid Bergman especially on the big screen?

On a scale of 1 to 100 I have rated some movies in the 90’s but this is the only one I have given a 100.  Even on VHS and DVD it was clear why this movie won best picture in 1943 and why it is consistently ranked in the Top 5 movies of all-time.  Seeing it on the big screen is a bonus adventure that everyone should experience at least once in their lifetime.  Do yourself a favor and go on this adventure and enjoy.


This entry was posted in As Time Goes By, Casablanca, Humphrey Bogart, Ingrid Bergman, Sam. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Digital Dalliances

  1. KYRambler says:

    Let us hope it is the start of a beautiful friendship! Glad you found it!

  2. KC Weldon says:

    I just saw Casablanca the first time a couple months ago. I totally get why it's been a classic for so long.

    KC @ The Occasional Adventures of a Hermit & Oh Frog It

  3. KYRambler says:

    I agree mood. I think the new 3D technology is better but still not a huge fan of it yet. And any movie made prior to 1970 should be considered off limits for 3D. 🙂

  4. mooderino says:

    A great movie. I just hope they don't convert it to 3D.

    mood
    Moody Writing

  5. I LOVE Casablance! Love it! I don't know if it is playing here on the big screen… must investigate. Just that clip above makes me want to watch it today!

Leave a Reply

